Explore, connect, thrive in
the expat community

Expat Life: Local Discoveries, Global Connections

Food & Drink Best Empanadas in Buenos Aires - List of Restaurants with the Best!

Howard Stern

I love great empanadas! I think that is the best food Argentina does well. It's hard to find a bad empanada. I wanted to start this thread to list the most delicious empanadas in Buenos Aires. Service is very quick and easy and you can get them to go. I always get a box to take back to my apartment. Every time my friends are in town I bring them here and they get addicted to them as well and we come back all throughout the trip.

My favorite is La Americana

Google Maps-

TripAdvisor

I don't think you can go wrong with ANY empanada in Argentina. I've been all over the country and never really had a bad empanada.

Probably my favorite is El San Juanino - Recoleta

I've been coming here for the past 22 years. I lived on Avenida Alvear and would walk down 1 block and come here a few times a week. When I eat there, I always get the same waiter. Great guy and friendly service here. They have a large selection of flavors of Empanadas and they are all great. They Milanesas are to die for here too but the star of the show is the Empanadas.

Google Map & Reviews:

TripAdvisor

I agree! Empanadas were the best comfort food I had there. It was nuts but I had one almost every day! I never got tired of them.

La Cocina - Recoleta

Google Maps

TripAdvisor

There is no such thing as a bad empanada! My favorite is in Belgrano. Do yourself a favor and make the hike up here. Amazing!

La Paceña​

Google Map

TripAdvisor

Screenshot 2023-12-17 at 10.40.22 AM.jpg

I've been in Buenos Aires a while and tried them all. I also like El Sanjuanino but I also love this place

El Gauchito - San Telmo

Google Map

TripAdvisor

Website/ FB

I don't like the pizza here but I love me some empanadas!