Explore, connect, thrive in
the expat community

Expat Life: Local Discoveries, Global Connections

Is it true that 2 visa overstays = auto 5 year ban?

90 day tourist visa overstays obviously

So you overstay, pay the fine and leave

Then you come back a year later, overstay again, pay the fine again, but this time they hit you with a 5 year ban
Ohhh ok got it. I'm new to this overstay business. I never talked to anyone that had problems. Where did you hear about this? Did you talk to anyone this happened to?

Most of the perma-tourists that I'm meeting have been staying in Argentina without leaving for up to 2 years. So I guess what you're saying is they can only do this 2 times? I would be curious to hear about actual experiences if you know of anyone this happened to or where you heard it from? Thanks.
Long story ,@MickMolloy . But basically was on a work trip , met a young lady and decided to stay.....
There is always a female involved! Ha, ha.

Overstaying is strictly against the law.

But it Is seen more as an administrative misdemeanour than a crime.

If you intend to stay long term in the country I wouldnt recommend it.

If you only want to stay between 6 and 12 months , there should be no problem.

When I first started my long term stay in Argentina , I used to travel every few weeks , so there was never any huge need to go totally legal.

I never got close to the 90 days during my first few years - it was always 25- 40 days .

Then GJ junior was born and i thought I better get my legal status sorted....

When I first started my long term stay in Argentina , I used to travel every few weeks , so there was never any huge need to go totally legal.

I never got close to the 90 days during my first few years - it was always 25- 40 days .

Having your child probably made things much easier! I heard once you have a kid born here it is very easy to get permanent residency after that.