Explore, connect, thrive in
the expat community

Expat Life: Local Discoveries, Global Connections

SnowBumte

I would like to open a US bank account. I am a non resident and I have a few questions about this. Any help would be much appreciated!

1. What documents do I need in order to do this? As far as I know it is possible but you do need to open the account in person. (I will be travelling to the states in a few months).

2. What is the best bank to open with? Lowest monthly fees as well as low withdrawal fees. I will be moving the money from a PayPal account into the bank account and withdrawing the money in Argentina.

3. Is it possible to withdraw money here in dollars? (I assume NO but just wanted to doublecheck)

4. Tax implications. Are there any? As a non resident do i need to pay tax on the money thats in my account? If so - how does that work?

Any other helpful pointers would be great! Thanks again.

Snow, banks in Florida tend to be very good about working with foreigners - they're used to it. Best bet is to open an account around Miami area. I know for a fact BOA will do it. You will need to be there in person and you will need some type of US mailing address. Other that that, you should be fine with your passport.

Snow, banks in Florida tend to be very good about working with foreigners - they're used to it. Best bet is to open an account around Miami area. I know for a fact BOA will do it. You will need to be there in person and you will need some type of US mailing address. Other that that, you should be fine with your passport.
This has changed during the last year. I am not sure it is possible anymore (although apparently existing accounts were grandfathered under the old regs). Do you have any knowledge of someone without a US tax ID number opening a new account in the last six months or so?