Explore, connect, thrive in
the expat community

Expat Life: Local Discoveries, Global Connections

Visas Looking to find a job to sponsor my visa - how hard is it?

FelipeMex

I'm a native English speaker with bilingual proficiency in Spanish. I will complete my Bachelor's degree in February, wrapping up my last semester on an exchange program. Over the past 11 years, I've gained extensive freelance writing experience, including recognition at a literary level with awards and nominations. Additionally, I have three years of freelance tutoring experience, primarily focused on English. Although I'm self-taught in tutoring, my university education in Spanish has equipped me with a strong understanding of grammar and teaching methodology, making it easy for me to transition into English teaching.

While I consider myself a strong candidate, I'm facing challenges in convincing potential employers to sponsor my visa. My commitment to staying long-term is driven by personal reasons, including a relationship, and I am prepared to work part-time immediately, transitioning to full-time next year. I've attempted to drop off my CV and apply online, but so far, I haven't received any positive responses.

If anyone has navigated a similar situation or has advice on securing an employer willing to sponsor a visa, I would greatly appreciate it. I am fully committed to following legal procedures, and my last option is to explore a working holiday visa after graduation. However, this visa is limited to one year and allows only six months of work annually. I'm unsure if it can be modified if I find an employer willing to sponsor me.

Judging from your post and how long you posted it, you probably had a hard time. Most employers will probably not want to hassle with this. Many employers are paying under the table in black. Let us know how things turned out.