Explore, connect, thrive in
the expat community

Expat Life: Local Discoveries, Global Connections

Has anyone had to show their DNI or Passport while shopping at the Grocery Store in Buenos Aires?

Aussieland

Aussieland has lived in Buenos Aires a long time but never have I ever had to show my real ID. I like my anonymity and although I always get asked for my DNI # I always just give them a fake ID number. But today while shopping for groceries at Carrefour at Paseo al Corta shopping mall, they made me show a copy of my passport. I didn't have it on me. All I had was my DNI but I didn't want to enter the system and have them track my DNI number. They already rang up all my groceries and I had an entire shopping cart full. I was going to leave but I waited in line for a while and didn't want to go through all of that hassle.

I told them I had been shopping there for many years and never got asked for this but they said it's a new policy. I'm not sure why. I didn't want to show my DNI card at all. My local friends told me they don't dare pay for anything except cash as they tell me Big Brother (and AFIP) are watching to see how much people are spending and are going to track it against stated income on tax returns.

I didn't know what to do but I had my Dropbox app on my phone and I showed them a copy of my passport. They told me they would allow me this time but they said that I always had to have an ID next time if I wanted to use a credit or debit card. This seems really strange and never happened in all my years living in Buenos Aires. What is going on? Am I living in some alternate universe? Is this happening to other people too?