Explore, connect, thrive in
the expat community

Expat Life: Local Discoveries, Global Connections

Politics Why is President Milei teaming up with Peronistas in his administration?

MikeYoung

Admittedly, I am totally new to Argentina. I thought Milei was going to change the status quo. I just read this article below. Why is he naming former Peronist ministers to his cabinet??? Wasn't Scioli the Kirchner candidate for President that ran against Macri??

Is this strange or is this normal for Argentina? It seems to go against everything he said during his speeches.

Admittedly, I am totally new to Argentina. I thought Milei was going to change the status quo. I just read this article below. Why is he naming former Peronist ministers to his cabinet??? Wasn't Scioli the Kirchner candidate for President that ran against Macri??

Is this strange or is this normal for Argentina? It seems to go against everything he said during his speeches.

I have to admit this was a very strange oddball pick for me. It seems like a favor was cashed in or something but very bizarre selection.

No to answer your question this is NOT normal. Here is another article talking about how strange it is. It is one thing to hire Macri's chronies but quite another to start adding Kirchner's handpicked staff.

I thought this was a joke until I clicked in and saw it was real.

Very odd. No one knows why he made this move. It will be interesting to see how this plays out but some odd selections to be sure.

Yes he wasn't just any Peronista! He was VP under Kirchner and also a likely candidate to run for President in the future. Very strange.
Watch and see. Milei won't finish his term and most likely Scioli will take over.

When will you Milei voters realize you made a mistake.